Senior Management Group

A number of Heads of Schools, Heads of Professional Services are responsible for the management and operation of the University College. Find out more about the group below.

Senior Management Group

AECC University College has a number of management groups.

The Senior Management Group at AECC University College advises the Principal on matters relating to policy and together develop and monitor AECC University College strategic and operational plans and targets. They meets once a month to consider and make recommendations on membership, institutional projects and initiatives, risks and capital expenditure.


Senior Management Group 

The AECC University College Senior Management group consists of; Principals, Vice Principals, Heads of Schools, Clinical Directors,  Heads of Professional services. Please find out more about the members of the group below. 

Professor Lesley Haig

Professor Lesley Haig is Principal of AECC University College. As Chief Executive Officer, Lesley works in close consultation with the Board of Governors and Senior Members of University College staff, and with a wide range of internal and external constituencies to provide the personal and professional leadership to develop the institution in accordance with the strategy, directions and guidelines set by the Board. Read Lesley's full bio.

Vice Principal 
Arvid Thorkeldsen 

Arvid Thorkeldsen is the Vice Principal Undergraduate Studies and Quality at the AECC University College. He is a member of Executive and Senior Management Group and is chair of Academic Development and Quality Committee and Learning and Teaching Subcommittee. He has overall responsibility for the provision of undergraduate education at the University College and the quality assurance of all AECC University College courses. Read Arvid's full bio

Director of IMRCI / Clinical Director - Special Imaging 
Professor Alan Breen

Professor Alan Breen graduated from the Canadian Memorial Chiropractic College in 1967 before setting up his own chiropractic practice. In 1986 he became Director of Research at the AECC University College, focussing on musculoskeletal research and epidemiology whilst encouraging staff to undertake doctoral studies. In 1999 Alan became Director of a new Musculoskeletal Research Institute where he continues to work.

Alan is also Professor of Musculoskeletal Research both in the Faculty of Science and Technology at Bournemouth University. As well as this, Alan holds the position of Clinical Director for Special Imaging, responsible for the Bournemouth Open Upright MRI service and Quantitative Fluoroscopy (QF).  Read Alan's full bio

Clinical Director
Dr Neil Osborne

As the AECC University College Clinical Director he has been passionate about involving his students in both mainstream spinal care in the NHS, and within specific areas of clinical research. He has been working in a triage service for a local GPs in a hospital setting; he works with the Physiotherapists and medical team at AFC Bournemouth, and has recently worked with RedBull F1 racing team in both treatment and injury prevention. Read Neil's full bio

Head of School of Chiropractic 
Philip Dewhurst

Philip Dewhurst is the Head of the School of Chiropractic and graduated from the AECC University College as a chiropractor in 2005. Read Phil's full bio

Head of School of Psychology, Sport and Physical Activity
Professor Stewart Cotterill 

Professor Stewart Cotterill is Head of School of Psychology, Sport and Physical Activity at AECC, and a Professor of Sport and Performance Psychology. Read Stewart's full bio

Head of School of Medical Ultrasound
Warren Foster

Warren Foster is Head of School at AECC University College's School of Medical Ultrasound and program Lead for the MSc Ultrasound courses. Read Warren's full bio

Professor Dave Newell 
Director of Research 

Professor of Integrated Musculoskeletal Care, Director of Research, and Reader at the AECC University College, a member of the Senior Management Group and chair of the Staff Development and Research Committee. Read Dave's full bio

Executive Director of Administration 
Peter Ford

Peter Ford is Executive Director of Administration with responsibility for the College’s Human Resources, Marketing and Communications, and Facilities and Building teams. He has oversight of health and safety, data protection and other aspects of legal compliance. Read Peter's full bio here.

Julie Currin

Interim Executive Director of Finance
Julie Currin

Julie Currin is Interim Executive Director of Finance and is responsible for AECC University College's finance, payroll, IT and catering functions. Julie is a certified accountant with 20 plus years' post-qualification experience in senior finance roles across the public and voluntary sectors, including positions as an NHS Director of Finance, Chief Finance of a large national charity and as an Executive Director of a number of educational providers. Read Julie's full bio here.


Academic Registrar
Karen Pichlmann

Karen is the University College’s Academic Registrar responsible for the strategic development and operational delivery of student and academic administration. Registry services are fundamental to the delivery of the University College education and student experience. Karen joined AECC University College in July 2016 bringing 15 years’ experience in higher education in the UK and Australia. Prior to joining the University College, Karen was Head of Admissions at Bournemouth University and Manager, Prospective Students Office at the University of Adelaide, Australia. Joining the AECC University College after degree awarding powers had been achieved provided Karen with a unique opportunity to develop and enhance existing processes and practices to enhance the student experience.

The Academic Registrar is also responsible for the Academic governance and committees, student facing regulations, policies and procedures and is the University College’s Prevent lead.


Ryan Grimshaw, Interim Head of Marketing and Communications

Interim Head of Marketing and Communications
Ryan Grimshaw

Ryan Grimshaw is Interim Head of Marketing and Communications, responsible for the University College’s corporate identity. In his role he supports the University College’s vision and mission through effective marketing, communications and engagement activities which enhance the University College’s national and international reputation and contribute to the institutions financial sustainability.

Ryan is responsible for the marketing and communications team who look after brand and reputation, student recruitment, internal and external communication, public affairs, digital marketing, and alumni relations.

Ryan has worked primarily in marketing and communications within the public sector, including the arts and culture and higher education sectors.


Head of Library and Learning Services
Caroline Cooke

Caroline Cooke is Head of Library and Learning Services at AECC University College and is responsible for the strategic development and delivery of Library Services, the Virtual Learning Environment and Technology Enhanced Learning. 

Caroline joined AECC University College as E-Resources Librarian in 2008, prior to that Caroline has held positions as Assistant Information Manager at the Chartered Institute of Library and Information Professionals, various education and industry librarian roles and has taught at secondary and primary levels. Caroline has a passion for education, libraries, and information and digital literacy; and particularly how these tools and services are of most use to students and staff when embedded effectively into the learning environment.